Review: Tiny, awesome Asus eee PC

I recently picked up an Asus eee PC, a tiny wonder of a PC. $399 at www.pccyber.com here in Ottawa.

Asus eee PC

The eee features:

  • 7 inch screen,
  • Full keyboard,
  • 512Meg of RAM,
  • 4Gig silicon hard disk,
  • 900 MHz Intel CPU,
  • 802.11g wireless
  • 10/100 LAN jack
  • 2 lbs
  • Runs Linux,
  • Ships with 40 applications, almost NONE of which I would classify as bloatware,
  • 3 USB ports,
  • VGA Port,
  • Camera!,
  • Built-in mic and speakers,
  • SD Card reader,
  • Can run Windows XP – ships with DVD that includes all necessary drivers.

What’s Great:

  • The size. It’s awesomely small and fun.
  • The weight. You can carry this everywhere.
  • The apps. Great selection (Open office, Firefox, Skype, lots, lots more.)

What Sucks:

  • The battery life does not appear to be the 3.5 hours that some people are reporting. I find it lasts about 1.5 hours, under normal use (browsing). So, carry the charger.
  • The sleep mode (slamming the lid shut) seems to use WAY too much power. The battery drains way to quickly in this mode. I’m used to my Mac, which I NEVER power down. With the eee, I find I have to shut it down instead of closing the lid. Not too big a deal since it boots in less than 30 seconds.
  • The charger is nice and small – but doesn’t appear to have the oomph to charge the machine while it’s in use. If I leave it going, and plugged in – then unplug it from the wall, it’s quite common to see the battery only at 80%. It charges fully when shut down, and plugged in.
  • It doesn’t appear to remember wireless LAN’s as well as I’d like. I basically want it to automatically log onto my favorite networks at home and at work. I’m having to select the network manually right now. It appears that there are options that can make this easier, but I haven’t had time to play with that yet.

Let me tell you that this is a really amazing little PC. It’s cute, small, yet usable. I can actually recommend this PC for students, kids, and adults who aren’t married to Windows. The charger is very small (which is good, ’cause you’ll want to carry it with you…). This is a great PC that you can toss in a bag and use at hot-spots, or while travelling. A great backpacker’s PC! My co-worker Jacques dumped his Dell laptop a couple of days after buying his eee!

7 responses to “Review: Tiny, awesome Asus eee PC”

  1. John Little says :

    I’m with Jacques. I’ve had my Eee about a week and I’ve decided to sell my 17″ Toshiba.

  2. kansir says :

    Hello. I live in Hong Kong, China. Eee PC is out of stock here. so i am waiting to get one.

    About the wireless LAN problem, do you know the website eeeuser.com? I find wiki there talk about this : http://wiki.eeeuser.com/howto:autostartwifi

    Hope this help you.

  3. Victor says :

    I loved this Eee pc!
    Eee PC means “”Easy to learn, Easy to work, Easy to play.”
    In my opinion it’s way better then OLPC project since it has more system power.
    Have you seen this video review made by The Dallas Morning News?
    weshow.com/us/p/22691/review_of_the_asus_eee_pc
    I don’t know about you, but I will buy one for christmas! 😀

  4. Andrew says :

    My Eee PC is just right for the things I like to do. I’ve been getting 3.5 hours out of my battery, but I shut it down when I’m not going to be using it for a while. It could be the Linux version installed has not been set up to hibernate properly. I’m sure I read about this problem elsewhere.

    I got Apache, PHP & MySQL running on my Eee PC. These things are so cool.

  5. manubee says :

    For peoples that doesn’t need performance but just mobility and office work that is perfect!

  6. Christian says :

    I just got a white EEE PC (701, 4GB) last Saturday and it works like a charm. Touch-typing is absolutely no problem. It is also very fast and you can open Office 2003 documents just fine – tried it with Word and Powerpoint. Same goes for reading PDFs or browsing the web. The only minor gripe so far is that I need to re-enter the Wireless password after every reboot, but that’s ok. Highly recommended.

